Spaghetti Squash – the Rest of the Story

That spaghetti squash cradled in a panty hose sling finally seemed ripe enough to harvest. I’d never grown spaghetti squash before so I had to go on line to get advice about when to pick them. Apparently when the rind is tough they’re ready. They are, after all, a type of winter squash. My thumb nail didn’t make a dent so I carefully undid the panty hose and brought my squash to the kitchen.

spaghetti-squash

I pricked some steam holes in it and put it in the microwave for 12 minutes. I could have baked it in the oven, I suppose, but it was too hot. I let it cool for awhile and then cut it in half and scooped out the seeds.

cooked-spaghetti-squash

The flesh comes apart in strings and I use it as a substitute for wheat pasta for my gluten intolerant husband. It is way better than it looks. I put spaghetti sauce on it, but it would be good with just butter, salt and pepper and maybe some cheese on top. I harvested two squash from this vine and there are three babies on the way. Anybody know how many squash you can expect to get from a vine? I want more than five, but that may be totally unrealistic.

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash – the Rest of the Story

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash; what the… ? | ~ ~ ~ The Food And The Fun ~ ~ ~

Leave a Reply

