Squash Sex

In my raised beds at home I have lots of squash plants. Acorn, butternut and spaghetti. I don’t plant these in my community garden bed because they need lots of room to run and are not such good neighbors. Would you want this pumpkin vine taking over your garden bed?

pumpkin running

I also plant some squash to grow vertically in concrete reinforcing mesh cages. I made these originally for my tomatoes because they are so tall and I can reach through the openings in the mesh. Okay, I know you’re waiting for squash sex and this is just a tease. Sorry.

wire cage for vertical climbers

I have lots of squash blossoms, but not so many squashes. Here’s the skinny. There are male blossoms and female blossoms. The female blossoms have tiny squash at the bottom – see photo below which shows the little squash and above it what will turn into an orange blossom. There are lots more male blossoms than female blossoms…more opportunities for bees to pollinate the female flowers.

squash blossom female for blog

Online I read that early in the season there are not so many female blossoms and I should be patient. Not my best trait, but I’m working on it. I have lots of  male blooms. They’re very pretty and they are delicious stuffed with goat cheese and deep fried, but I want squash!

Cucurbita moschata 'Butternut'. Original descr...

Cucurbita moschata ‘Butternut’. Original description: Courges butternut (Cucurbita moschata) Photo JH Mora, septembre 2005 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

